Watertown Public Schools

30 Common Street, Watertown MA 02472

High School Special Education

Watertown Public Schools > Departments > Student Services

  

Sped cycle Mission Statement(s):  

To provide and ensure that all students with disabilities are educated, self-directed and productive members of the high school community and society. 

Program Highlights

Resource Support:  This course provides organizational and study strategies to help students with disabilities that attend mainstreamed classes.  In addition, this course provides instructional strategies on literacy skills.  Collaboration between student, regular education teachers and the academic support teachers is an integral part of this course.  The learning format includes, but is not limited to 1:1 instruction, small group instruction, monitoring and reinforcement, applied academics, homework strategies, evaluation of strategies and skills, and academic test monitoring.

Counseling & Academic Program (C.A.P.):  This program is designed to service students with psychiatric diagnosis.  The program provides academic, emotional, and behavioral support to students at risk for outside placement in either clinical day, residential, or hospital programs.  Some students may be transitioning form hospital programs and more restrictive settings into the public school environment.  Students generally participate in all regular classes.  On occasion, and depending on the individual need of the child, extended stays within the C.A.P. setting might be warranted.  These decisions are Team driven and must be approved through a signed Individual Education Plan (IEP) or signed IEP Amendment permitting a least restrictive environment (LRE) and placement.

interactionTransitional Developmental Learning Program:  The Developmental Life Skills Program has been created to allow student involvement and interaction within their community.  This program is designed to increase student knowledge of basic academic skills as well as activities of daily living.  Functional in its approach, students move toward the world of employment or continued education upon graduation.  Instructional support and direct instruction in specific content areas are provided on a daily basis.  Appropriate social skills are also encouraged and taught.

Staff:

Torbjorn Phillpotts, Special Education Teacher
tphillpotts@watertown.k12.ma.us
Resource Room, Life Skills
617-926-7730

Joan Warnock, Special Education Teacher
jwarnock@watertown.k12.ma.us
Language Based Learning Program (English, grades 9-10)
Resource Room, Co-Taught English
617-926-7730

Normand Destrempe, Special Education Teacher
ndestrempe@watertown.k12.ma.us
Resource Room, Life Skills, Co-Taught History
617-926-7730

Donna Gorian, Special Education Teacher
dgorian@watertown.k12.ma.us
Learning Center Resource Room
617-926-7730

Arlene Shainker
Secondary Special Education Coordinator
ashainker@watertown.k12.ma.us
617-926-7760

Michelle Fallon
WHS Team Chairpersonh
mfallon@watertown.k12.ma.us
617-926-7763

Kimberly Gould
Special Education Teacher
kgould@watertown.k12.ma.us
617-926-7760

Derek Rousseau
Special Education Teacher
drousseau@watertown.k12.ma.us
617-926-7760

Alexis Glikman
Special Education Teacher
aglikman@watertown.k12.ma.us
617-926-7760

Andrea Nykiel
Special Education Teacher
anykiel@watertown.k12.ma.us
617-926-7760

Christine Seashore
Special Education Teacher
cseashore@watertown.k12.ma.us
617-926-7760

Andrew Viselli
Special Education Teacher
aviselli@watertown.k12.ma.us
617-926-7760

Malik Champlain
Special Education Teacher
mchamplain@watertown.k12.ma.us
617-926-7760

Elisabeth Schaefer
Director of Student Services

eschaefer @ watertown.k12.ma.us
tel: 617 926-7767

Barbara Stewart
Student Services Assistant

bstewart @ watertown.k12.ma.us
tel: 617-926-7767



 

Contact the Webmaster Updated on: April 28, 2011